It’s finally over!

Standard

It’s been a while since I’ve posted on here, but it was for a worthy cause. This year I challenged myself to compete in NaNoWriMo. For those of you who don’t know, the goal is to write 50,000 words in the space of one month. It doesn’t matter if it’s a new tale or trying to finish something you’ve got in progress, it’s all about the word count.

I’m happy to say that I completed by quota in the allotted time, though it was down to the wire. I typed the last words of the story around 7pm on the 30th of November and I look forward to pulling it back out in January to put a bit of polish on it.

As you may know, I primarily deal in tales of the sci-fi or fantasy variety, but this time I decided to pen a mystery tale just to see if I could do it. It’s set in The Villages, a massive retirement community in central Florida and as a dedicated pantser, I found it very difficult to work to an outline, despite the fact that I kept it intentionally vague. I knew I would see something during the writing that would change my mind.

I will keep you all updated once I start doing the revisions and assuming I can get it shiny enough, I will probably release it as an ebook through Smashwords.

What I learned from this experience is that if you set your mind to it, you can complete any manuscript. The trick is the same trick you hear from every writer that gives out advice. Just keep putting words on the page and try your hardest to shut your internal editor off. Once you start going back to fix things, you’re no longer going forward. Write now, fix later.

Let me know what you think.

